Three Essex players named in Learning Disability squad for upcoming INAS Tri-Series


England have announced a 15-man Learning Disability squad for the INAS Tri-Series supported by NatWest.

The tournament, which will be live scored on for the first time, will see England, Australia and South Africa lock horns at club grounds across Cheshire in July.

England, led by skipper Chris Edwards, will be looking to win the Tri-Series for the third time in a row following victories in 2011 and 2015.

Matt Browne and Jack Perry are new call ups to the side while Dan Thomas and Thomas Wilson will also be hoping to make their England debuts having featured in previous squads.

The hosts will start their campaign to retain the trophy against South Africa on 10 July at Chester Boughton Hall Cricket Club.

The tournament is being supported by ECB’s new principal partner NatWest as part of their new ‘Cricket Has No Boundaries’ campaign.

England Learning Disability Head Coach Derek Morgan said:

“The entire team is very excited about the tournament. Australia and South Africa will provide a stern test but we have picked a squad we believe is good enough to retain the trophy.

“The players are going into the tournament confident in their own abilities and that of the squad as a whole.”

England Head of Disability Cricket Ian Martin said:

“We hope the INAS Tri-Series will be a fantastic advert for our sport. Our aim is to raise the profile of disability cricket for all cricket fans, no matter their background or challenges in life.

“It is brilliant news that NatWest are supporting all forms of cricket. Their support for our recreational game is all important as our national disability squads continue to show that cricket is a game for everyone.”

Martyn Wilson, NatWest Head of Sponsorship, Events & Hospitality, said:

“We are immensely proud to have supported cricket for nearly 40 years. Our new role as principal partner of the ECB has enabled us to align our own values of diversity and inclusion and develop our ‘Cricket Has No Boundaries’ campaign. We want all our customers and colleagues to feel valued and welcome, and supporting the INAS Tri-Series is a great reflection of this.”

England Learning Disability squad

Chris Edwards (captain) – Cheshire

Dan Bowser – Devon

Matt Browne – Surrey

Matt Cowdrey – Essex

Jonny Gale – Surrey

Rob Hewitt – Yorkshire

Ronnie Jackson – Essex

Alex Jervis – Yorkshire

Dan Levey – Surrey

Jack Perry – Cheshire

Callum Rigby – Shropshire

Lee Stenning – Surrey

Dan Thomas – Essex

Thomas Wilson – Lancashire

Tayler Young – Surrey


Learning Disability Tri-Series 2017 schedule

9 July: opening ceremony, Cranage Hall
10 July: England v South Africa, Chester Boughton Hall CC (40 over)
11 July: England v Australia, Grappenhall CC (40 over)
12 July: South Africa v Australia, Nantwich CC (40 over)
13 July: South Africa v England, Bramhall CC (40 over)
14 July: Australia v England, Tattenhall CC (40 over)
16 July: South Africa v Australia, Oxton CC (40 over)
17 July: Final, Neston CC (40 over)
18 July: England v Australia and Australia v South Africa, Toft CC (T20)
19 July: South Africa v England and England v Australia, Chester Boughton Hall CC (T20)
20 July: England v South Africa and South Africa v Australia, Oxton CC (T20)
21 July: Final, Nantwich CC (T20)