Bopara, ten Doeschate and Zaidi head to Hong Kong Blitz


Essex stars Ravi Bopara, Ryan ten Doeschate and Ashar Zaidi will head to Hong Kong this weekend to take part in the Hong Kong T20 Blitz.

All-rounder Bopara will represent City Kaitak, alongside overseas stars Samuel Badree (WI), Rayad Emrit (WI), Sohail Tanvir (Pak), and Kyle Coetzer (Sco).

Club Captain ten Doeschate will appear for Hong Kong Island United in the quickfire tournament. He will be joined in the squad by overseas players, Kamran Akmal (Pak), Mohammad Irfan (Pak), David Wiese (RSA), Luke Ronchi (NZ) and  Hussain Talat (Pak),

Big-hitting all-rounder Ashar Zaidi will again feature for defending Champions, Kowloon Cantons, whom he helped clinch the inaugral Hong Kong T20 Blitz title in 2017.

This year’s tournament will be played from February 6-11 and will allow young Hong Kong cricketers to learn from some of the world’s greatest players.