Jamie Porter has been named as one of five Wisden Cricketers of the Year this morning.

After a stunning first season in Division One, Porter took 75 wickets to lead Essex to the County Championship title and his stellar work has been recognised with one of cricket’s finest accolades.

Shai Hope, Heather Knight, Natalie Sciver and Anya Shrubsole join Porter on the list, and all have been acknowledged for their significant contributions to cricket over the past 12 months.

It has been a roller coaster year for the 24-year-old after being ruled out of the Lions Winter tour to Australia with a lower back stress fracture, but Porter believes this is the perfect boost ahead of an important 2018 season.

He said: “It is a great honour to receive this award. People that have received this accolade before me have gone down as legends of the game.

“The company I am in is of the highest calibre. The three women who were pivotal in helping England to the World Cup last summer, and Shai Hope, who has been brilliant across the year, and had an incredible series against England.

“I have had chance to reflect on 2017, and it was a special year for both the Club and myself. This is a great confidence boost, but I am not going to dwell too much on it now as I need to be ready for Yorkshire on Friday. I want to look ahead to another important season, and hopefully produce similar performances that will allow me to be in this position again next year.”

Essex’s Past Winners:
1898 F.G. Bull
1902 C.P. McGahey
1904 W. Mead
1905 P.A. Perrin
1915 J.W.H.T. Douglas
1922 H. Ashton
1923 C.A.G. Russell
1934 M.S. Nichols
1939 K. Farnes
1947 T.P.B. Smith
1950 T.E. Bailey
1956 D.J. Insole
1972 B. Taylor
1974 K.D. Boyce
1974 K.W.R. Fletcher
1978 K.S. McEwan
1979 J.K. Lever
1980 G.A. Gooch
1987 J.H. Childs
1988 N.A. Foster
1991 M.E. Waugh
1998 S.G. Law
2003 N. Hussain
2012 A.N. Cook