Zampa Set for Australia Tour as Siddle Misses Out


Australia have named their 15-man squad for the upcoming limited-overs tour of India, with the Club’s Vitality Blast overseas star, Adam Zampa named in the group.

However, Peter Siddle, who is set to join Essex for the upcoming 2019 campaign made his long-awaited return to the International One-Day International scene for the first time since 2010 earlier this year, misses out along with Billy Stanlake and Mitchell Marsh.

Siddle was selected for the Aussies’ recent Test squad and also ODI series against India, returning combined figures of 2-162 at 6.48 runs per over with the white ball. He has been a regular member of the Adelaide Strikers’ squad in this year’s KFC Big Bash.

Australia T20I/ODI squad: Aaron Finch (c), Pat Cummins (vc), Alex Carey (vc), Jason Behrendorff, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Peter Handscomb, Usman Khawaja, Nathan Lyon, Shaun Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Jhye Richardson, Kane Richardson, D’Arcy Short, Marcus Stoinis, Ashton Turner, Adam Zampa.

The door remains firmly open for Siddle with National Selector, Trevor Hohns commenting, “Peter Siddle and Mitch Marsh are unfortunate to miss out, but our message throughout the summer remains true, with such a big schedule ahead opportunities may well present themselves,” Hohns said.

Coming into the squad are fast bowlers Kane Richardson and Nathan Coulter-Nile, and hard-hitting batsman Ashton Turner.

Australia will play two T20 internationals and five ODIs against India, starting with a T20I on Sunday 24 February.