Beard awarded Bernard Stimpson Award


At Tuesday’s Annual General Meeting, bowler Aaron Beard was awarded the annual Bernard S. Stimpson Award. This recognition goes to the First Team player who had done the most by way of character, appearance and turn out to represent the Club.

A legacy fund was left by Mr Bernard S. Stimpson requesting that the Trustees use the interest to award a player each year. Last year’s winner was Matt Quinn, with other notable player’s including Nasser Hussain, Andy Flower and Ravi Bopara.

Aaron has continue to play a huge part of the Club’s activity off the field of play, especially in supporting Commercial, Media and Charity requests that were asked of him.

Commenting on receiving the reward, Beard said: “I would like to thanks Mags [Anthony McGrath] and the Club for awarding me with the Bernard S. Stimpson award.

“Representing the Club when we’re not playing is really important and a big part of this is interacting with Club sponsors, attending events and helping the great work carried out by the Essex Cricket in the Community team.

The Club are doing some amazing things across the region and I’m pleased to play my part in making these a success.”