Sunrisers return to Chelmsford this weekend


The Cloud County Ground host Sunrisers once again in 2022 with four fixtures being played in the Charlotte Edwards Cup (T20) and Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy (50-over).

First up is Sunrisers v South East Stars for the opening match of the Charlotte Edwards Cup, which takes place on Saturday 14 May (2:30pm) at Chelmsford and here is all you need to know about the competition this year.

The 2022 Charlotte Edwards Cup starts on 14 May, with the eight regional teams playing for a place at Finals Day on 11 June in Northampton.

Which games are being hosted at The Cloud County Ground?

• Sunrisers v South East Stars: Saturday 14 May, 2:30pm
• Sunrisers v Western Storm: Wednesday 18 May, 7pm
• Sunrisers v Western Storm: Saturday 16 July, 10:30am
• Sunrisers v Lightning: Sunday 11 September, 10:30am


When will the Charlotte Edwards Cup start?
The 20-over competition begins on Saturday 14 May with all eight women’s regional team in action on the opening day.

The month-long competition will conclude with Finals Day at the County Ground, Northampton, on Saturday 11 June.

What are the groups and format?
The format is the same as last summer, when South East Stars were the inaugural champions, with the eight teams split into two equal groups.
Group A: Central Sparks, South East Stars, Sunrisers, Western Storm
Group B: Lightning, Northern Diamonds, Thunder, Southern Vipers

Each team will play six group-stage matches – three at home and three away. The best group winner progresses immediately to the final of Finals Day.

The semi-final on Finals Day will be contested by the other group winner and the best second-placed team. The winner of that match will progress to the final.

How can I follow the matches?

Tickets for the games hosted at Chelmsford are on sale now via priced at just £10 for Adults and £5 for Students/Young Adults (18-24)/Juniors (U18s).

All Charlotte Edwards Cup matches will be live-streamed and you can find the streams via the or on YouTube.

What is the background of the eight teams playing in the Charlotte Edwards Cup?

The eight teams are formed of First-Class Counties and National Counties – and Loughborough University – who work together at the elite end of the women’s domestic game to support a squad of professional and semi-professional players, as well as an academy.

The eight regions are:
• Central Sparks (Warwickshire CCC & Worcestershire CCC, Herefordshire, Shropshire, Staffordshire)
• Lightning (Loughborough University, Derbyshire CCC, Leicestershire CCC, Nottinghamshire CCC, Lincolnshire)
• Northern Diamonds (Yorkshire CCC, Durham CCC, Northumberland)
• Thunder (Lancashire CCC, Cheshire, Cumbria)
• South East Stars (Surrey CCC, Kent CCC)
• Southern Vipers (Hampshire Cricket, Sussex CCC, Berkshire, Buckinghamshire, Dorset, Isle of Wight, Oxfordshire)
• Sunrisers (Middlesex CCC, Essex CCC, Northamptonshire CCC, Bedfordshire, Cambridgeshire, Hertfordshire, Huntingdonshire, Norfolk, Suffolk)
• Western Storm (Glamorgan CCC, Gloucestershire CCC, Somerset CCC, Cricket Wales, Cornwall, Devon, Wiltshire)