Harold Wood CC win the Brian Taylor Trophy 2022


The first of the Essex Cricket in the Community County Youth Competitions for 2022, the Brian Taylor Trophy, has been won by Harold Wood CC u12s to retain the trophy for the second year in a row following their triumph in last year’s competition.

They defeated Oakfield Parkonians at the Felsted School on Friday 19 August.

With Harold Wood winning the toss and electing to bat, they made 174 for 8 in their 30 overs with this mainly due to an incredible hundred from young Shaurya Singh, who hit 114 off 103 balls.

This was before bowling out Oakfield Parkonians for 92 in 21.4 overs to win by 82 runs.

Both teams competed very well and were a credit to their clubs on the day. Harold Wood will move forward to represent the county in next year’s U13 ECB Club T20 Cup.

A full copy of the scorecard can be found here

Thanks to officials Dick DeCaries, Sandeep Pathak and Andy Thurogood as well as Sean Healey for ensuring the day ran smoothly on the field. Also, thank you to Felsted School for providing a fantastic venue for the teams to play at.