Essex Over 50s are County Champions


Essex v Middlesex

ECB 50+ County Championship Final
Arundel Castle Cricket Ground


Team News:

Essex: Giles Ecclestone, Stuart Felstead, Charlie Knightley, Mel Hussain, Chirag Desai, Richard Wilson, Zafir Nazir, Jason Green, Mo Fayyaz, Ian Fairall, Tim Smith.

Middlesex: Mehboob Elahi, Baljinder Mangat, Fakir Dungaria, Naseer Ahmed, James Williams, Pawan Malik, Naeem Khan, Robert Nelson, Kamlesh Desai, Mark Rochester, Gihan Herath, Navin Samarakoon.

Match Details:

Toss: Essex won the toss and elected to bat
Result: Essex won by 4 wickets – Essex 217/6 (44.1 overs), Kent 216/8 (45 overs)

Essex’s all-conquering Over 50s have been crowd ECB 50+ County Champions following a hard-fought final victory over a strong Middlesex side at Arundel Castle Cricket Ground.

Middlesex posted a competitive 216 for 8. Baljinder Mangat top-scored with 49 from 101 balls, while James Williams chipped in with 46. Mel Hussain was the pick of the Essex attack, returning impressive figures of three for 51 from 9 overs, while Mo Fayyaz claimed 2/34.

In an exciting finish, Essex chased down their target with five deliveries to spare. Giles Ecclestone provided a platform with a stylish 62 from 71 balls. Meanwhile, wicketkeeper/batter, Charlie Knightley contributed 53.

Middlesex bowler, Kamlesh Desai took two wickets for 39. Zafir Nazir (15*) and Jason Green (7*) saw Essex home in the nick of time to win the trophy for the third year in a row.