Wanstead & Snaresbrook win Sir Alastair Cook T20 Trophy


Loughton v Wanstead & Snaresbrook

Sir Alastair Cook U14s T20 Final
Garon Park


Team News:

Loughton: Mikaeel Lodhi *, George Coton, Ayman Hossain, Zohaib Qadir, Luke Adams, Louie Gibbins, Sahib Rattan, Sachin Sagger †, Cameron Pigney, Aarush Mahajan, Charlie Ward.

Wanstead & Snaresbrook: Shawaiz Saeed †, Ibrahim Wajid, Aryan Ahmed *, Tarun Sharma, Zafar Saiyed, Aiyaan Saleem, Ayaan Tanveer, Sulaiman Jafri, Haider Khan, Kiran Arawwawala, Cyrus Lewis.

Match Details:

Toss: Wanstead & Snaresbrook won the toss and elected to bowl
Result: Wanstead & Snaresbrook won by 5 wickets – Wanstead & Snaresbrook 104/5 (16.3 overs), Loughton 103/9 (20.0 overs)

Wanstead & Snaresbrook lifted the Sir Alastair Cook U14s title after winning a low-scoring final against Loughton at Garon Park.

Athletic fielding and economical bowling from Wanstead saw Loughton restricted to 103 for nine from their twenty overs.

Ayman Hossain and George Coton top-scored with 24, but the former was one of six Loughton batters to be run out following slick work in the field. Skipper, Mikaeel Lodhi contributed 20. Ibrahim Wajid, Tarun Sharma, Shawaiz Saeed and Aryan Ahmed all tasted success with the ball for Wanstead.

Wanstead chased down their target with twenty-one deliveries to spare. Zafar Saiyed provided an eye-catching innings in which he scored an unbeaten 54 off 33 balls during a 42-minute stint at the crease.

Luke Adams returned figures of two for 31 for Loughton, but it was all to no avail as Wanstead claimed the honours.