Colchester and East Essex victorious in Ravi Bopara T20 Trophy


Saffron Walden v Colchester and East Essex

Essex Cricket Youth Competitions U19s T20 Final
Garon Park


Team News:

Saffron Walden: Alex Peirson, Nikhil Gorantla, Stanley Leech *, Henry Wiseman, Daniel Karr, James Wilson, Sam Thain, Oliver Rae, Ben Rae, Noah Vintiner and Charlie Rowlandson †.

Colchester and East Essex: Guy Haines *, Charlie Allison, Barney Morton, Ollie Burle †, Felix Bond Roberts, Daniel Gladwell, Jacob Drew, Cameron Sprott, Matt Wallace, Akshay Lonkar and Aryan Sharma.

Match Details:

Toss: Colchester and East Essex won the toss and elected to bowl
Result: Colchester and East Essex won by 8 wickets – Colchester and East Essex 193/2 (19.3 overs), Saffron Walden 192/3 (20.0 overs)

Charlie Allison’s explosive 87 off 33 balls went some way toward Colchester and East Essex chasing down a sizable Saffron Walden total to lift the Essex Cricket Youth Competitions U19s T20 title.

Allison wooed the enthusiastic crowd with a 42-minute knock which included seven 6s and five 4s. Skipper, Guy Haines was also in sparking form, scoring 51 off 49. James Wilson and Nikhil Gorantla were the only Saffron Waldon bowlers to enjoy success with the ball.

Earlier, Saffron Walden appeared to have taken the game by the scruff of its neck, posting a competitive 192 for three. Alex Peirson had set the tone for an afternoon of exquisite batting by scoring an unbeaten 107 off 73 balls. Captain, Stanley Leech was also amongst the runs with 59 off 31.

But it was Colchester and East Essex who held their nerve and take the honours with three balls to spare.

Umpires: Jagroop Singh and Barry Toombs
Scorers: Andy Thurogood and Sean Healey