Over £9,000 raised for Essex Cricket Foundation at End of Season Gala Dinner


The End of Season Gala Dinner was hosted at Braxted Park Estate on Wednesday night. As well as a chance to thank Members, Sponsors, fans and staff for their efforts throughout the year, the night also raises money for the Essex Cricket Foundation.

Throughout the evening, over £9000 was raised on top of the £8,150 donated by Trade Nation, who gave £50 for every six hit by a by an Essex player during a Men’s First XI fixture this season.

Our Community Engagement Manager & County Lead for Ability Cricket, Pat Ward, said:

“We are so grateful for all of the money raised for the foundation.

“This means we can keep the Ability Champion Clubs training throughout the winter season, which is key to keeping players at the Club. It will also allow us to maintain our walking cricket hubs and look to start up more going into 2023.

“Lastly, we would like to set up some mental health workshops for county players and recreational clubs.”

Throughout the evening, the End of Season awards were distributed and the success of those connected with the Club on either side of the boundary was celebrated. Tilly Callaghan scooped the award of the MidexPro Women’s Team Player of the Year, while Shane Snater won the DeVines Men’s Player of the Year. See below for a full list of results.

A special thanks is due to Platinum Sponsors, Cloud, Woodland Group, Ambassador Cruise Line, Whitehall Resources, Allen Ford, D&B Scaffolding for their support throughout the 2022 season.

Relive the night:

Award Winners:

Second XI Player of the Year: Robin Das

Allen Ford Ability Young Player of the Year: Jack Flowers

East London Hub Player of the Year: Abid Zadran

Community Award: Brian Tunney

Women’s Young Player of the Year: Hollie Dring-Richardson

Over 50’s Player of the Year: Giles Ecclestone

Development Team Player of the Year: Bilal Kamal

Seniors Team Player of the Year: Kevin Grant

Academy Player of the Year: Noah Thain

First XI Young Player of the Year: Jamal Richards

Bowler of the Year: Sam Cook

Batter of the Year: Alastair Cook

Performance of the Year: Shane Snater

Woodland Group Eagles Player of the Year: Michael Pepper

Players’ Player of the Year: Shane Snater

Allen Ford Ability Player of the Year: Isaac Elles

MidexPro Women’s Player of the Year: Tilly Callaghan

DeVines Men’s Player of the Year: Shane Snater