Essex over-60s crowned National County Championship winners


Sussex v Essex

National County Championship Final
Chipstead Cricket Ground


Team News:

Essex: Kevin Grant, Simon Sargent, Neil Brathwaite, Andrew Gallant, Alan Lord, Marcus Young, Arshad Mughal, Deepak Sinha, Mark Taylor, Tim Smith, Shahid Iqbal.

Sussex: Martyn Ford, Gordon Morgan, John Connelly, John Paddy Smith, Ian Jones, Danny Buckland, David Christmas, Russ Varney, Stephen Harris, Andrew Hill, Tim Peters.

Match Details:

Umpires: C Kent & D Morrison
Toss: Essex won the toss and elected to field
Result: Essex won by 7 wickets
Scorecard: View Here

Sussex 190/8 (45.0 overs)
Essex 192/3 (40.5 overs)

Match Report:

Essex over-60s have been crowned National County Championship winners following a seven-wicket victory over their Sussex counterparts in a well-contested final held over from last summer and staged at Chipstead Cricket Club.

Having taken the ball, Marcus Young proved to be the pick of the Essex attack, finishing with figures of 3 for 39 from his 9 overs. However, Sussex opener, Martyn Ford, proved to be a thorn in the Essex side. During a 164-minute stint at the crease, he hit an unbeaten century off 123 balls, including 10 boundaries.

Andrew Hill chipped in with 33 as Sussex posted a competitive 190 for 8 from their 45 overs.

In response, Essex swiftly lost Kevin Grant and Simon Sargent and found themselves on 22/2. Nevertheless, Neil Brathwaite hit a majestic unbeaten 90 off 118 balls, while Alan Lord reached 56* to see Essex stunningly claim the title with some to spare.

This was the third time Essex has won the National Championship in the category, with more than 30 counties competing. Their previous successes came in 2014 and 2018.