Benkenstein and Thain selected in England Under-19 squad


Essex youngsters Luc Benkenstein and Noah Thain have been selected in a 16-player England Men’s Under-19s squad for upcoming Youth One-Day Internationals against Ireland and Australia.

Benkenstein, 19, made his Essex first-team debut in a One Day Cup fixture away to Durham in 2021, and has since played five further matches in the 50-over format, collecting 11 wickets at an average of 17.90.

Meanwhile, 18-year-old Thain recently signed a rookie contract covering the 2023 season, and has made both his First-Class and List A debuts for the Eagles this season.

The Young Lions will play Ireland in two Youth ODIs at Loughborough on 21st and 23rd August, before hosting Australia in a five-match series, held across Beckenham and Hove, between 26th August and 4th September.

In addition, there is further recognition for another Essex prospect, as Charlie Allison has been named in a Young Lions Invitational squad.

Allison is one of 18 named in that group, which will play a 50-over match against Ireland U19s on 25th August, and a two-day warm-up against Australia starting on 22nd August, both in Loughborough.

Essex Eagles vs Nottinghamshire, Metro Bank One-Day Cup, Cricket, The Cloud County Ground, Chelmsford, Essex, United Kingdom - 03 Aug 2023

England Men Under-19s squad: Ben McKinney (Durham, captain), Farhan Ahmed (Nottinghamshire), Tazeem Ali (Warwickshire), Charlie Barnard (Lancashire), Luc Benkenstein (Essex), Jack Carney (Lancashire), Keshana Fonseka (Lancashire), Henry Hurle (Glamorgan), Eddie Jack (Hampshire), Dom Kelly (Hampshire), Mitch Killeen (Durham), JT Langridge (Somerset), Henry Rogers (Sussex), Hamza Shaikh (Warwickshire), Noah Thain (Essex), Ross Whitfield (Durham).

Young Lions Invitational XI squad: Charlie Allison (Essex), Yousaf Bin Naeem (Derbyshire), Tommy Boorman (Gloucestershire), Alex French (Surrey), Tom Giles (Nottinghamshire), Daniel Hogg (Durham), Travis Holland (Nottinghamshire), Haider Hussain (Lancashire), Noah Kelly (Yorkshire), Rhys Lewis (Middlesex), Freddie McCann (Nottinghamshire), Haydon Mustard (Durham), Louie Owens (Yorkshire), Jake Tarling (Leicestershire), Stuart Van Der Merwe (Surrey), Josh Thomas (Somerset), Raphael Weatherall (Northamptonshire), Theo Wylie (Warwickshire).