U12 Brian Taylor Matchplay Trophy Final – Match Report


Coggeshall Town CC U12 v Oakfield Parkonians CC U12

U12 Brian Taylor Matchplay Trophy, Final
Felsted School, Felsted
Tuesday 22 August 2023, 12:00pm start


Team News:

Coggeshall Town: Tom Golding (c), George Wild (wk), Harry Martin, Benedict Clarke, Archie Tebbutt, Freddie Maynard, Dylan Barrow, Thomas Butler, Espen Ferguson, Oscar Rees, Freddie Allison

Oakfield Parkonians: L Suryasankara (c), Rian Parmar, Vyasan Sarma Srividyanandan, Gowtham Sanga, Awn Minhas, Tanay Shetty (wk), Krishn Bagade, Manish Gaikwad, Aryan Chavan, Faris Sohail, Aadhithya Premkumar

Match Details:

Umpire: Dick de Caires
Scorer: Helen Hyde
Toss: Coggeshall Town won the toss and opted to field first
Result: Oakfield Parkonians won by 57 runs

Scorecard: View Here

Match Report:

Rian Parmar top-scored with 42 and then picked up bowling figures of 1/11 to steer Oakfield Parkonians to a 57-run victory over Coggeshall Town in the final of the Brian Taylor Matchplay Trophy at Felsted School.

He faced 58 balls for his runs, with his knock including six fours, and shared in an opening stand of 61 with L Suryasankara, who made 36, helping Oakfield to post 120/9 in spite of Harry Martin’s 4/13.

Parmar’s figures, which came in five overs, then saw Coggeshall dismissed for 63 in response, with Benedict Clarke’s 20 and 13 from wicketkeeper George Wild ultimately not able to help their side chase down the target.

He was well-supported by the rest of the Oakfield attack, as Krishna Bagade led the way in taking 4/8 plus two run-outs, while Gowtham Sanga picked up two scalps and Vyasan Sarma Srividyanandan added another.

WhatsApp Image 2023-08-22 at 20.32.08 (1)

Having opened the batting after losing the toss, Parmar and Oakfield captain Suryasankara were initially watchful, scoring 26 without loss after the first ten overs.

However, when Suryasankara took 11 off one over shortly afterwards, that prompted an uptick in the scoring, and a four from the skipper midway through the 14th over brought up Oakfield’s team fifty.

Coggeshall hit back through Freddie Maynard as he saw Suryasankara caught by his opposite number Tom Golding before Wild took a catch behind the stumps to dismiss Srividyanandan.

WhatsApp Image 2023-08-22 at 20.32.06

The double-strike, which occurred in the space of three balls, took nothing out of the batting of Parmar, who hit five of his next nine balls to the fence, though he was ultimately caught by Clarke off Dylan Barrow in the 20th.

Barrow had already bowled Sanga four balls earlier, before Golding returned a wicket maiden from the very next set of six to leave Oakfield 87-5 with nine to go.

A recovery between Bagade and Tanay Shetty saw 30 runs added for the sixth wicket inside seven overs, with the team hundred posted via a four from the latter.

WhatsApp Image 2023-08-22 at 20.32.08 (3)

However, Martin then struck twice to see the latter held by Barrow for 20 and then snaffle Manish Gaikwad off his own bowling, before taking two more in three balls in the final over to ensure Coggeshall finished strongly.

Much like Oakfield, Coggeshall began by steadily feeling out the conditions and had reached 29-1, aiming to recover from Parmar’s dismissal of Golding, though a six-over spell, led by one player, swung the match decisively.

Martin was run out by Bagade coming back for a second from the first ball of the ninth, before the same Oakfield player then dismissed Wild, caught by Shetty, and Archie Tebbutt, who was bowled, in the space of three balls.

WhatsApp Image 2023-08-22 at 20.32.08 (2)

When Bagade then threw down the stumps again to see off Freddie Maynard, Coggeshall were 34-5, and he wasted little time in bowling Barrow and Thomas Butler before the end of the 16th to make that 48-7.

Clarke and Espen Ferguson, the latter of whom ended unbeaten, aimed to reverse the decline as they combined to hit Srividyanandan for 11 off the next over, which included the team fifty coming via a wide.

However, Srividyanandan had the last laugh as top-scorer Clarke was bowled with his final ball before Sanga returned a wicket maiden to leave Oakfield requiring just one more for victory.

WhatsApp Image 2023-08-22 at 20.32.09

Sanga would go on to be the player who completed the job, as he bowled Freddie Allison late in the 21st over to complete an ultimately comfortable win.

The result also confirmed that Oakfield will go forward to represent Essex in the ECB Under-13 Club T20 competition in 2024.