England Women name squad for Pakistan series


With a little under four weeks until England Women return to The Cloud County Ground for a Metro Bank ODI against Pakistan, the Three Lions have named their squad for the series.

Left-arm spinner Linsey Smith is again selected after returning to the senior squad for the IT20s in New Zealand.

Heather Knight’s side start with a three match IT20 series, beginning on Saturday 11 May at Edgbaston, where England played in front of nearly 20,000 fans in a Women’s Ashes IT20 in July 2023.

They then travel to The County Ground, Northampton before finishing at Headingley, after which the three ODIs against the same opposition follow.

Chelmsford will host the third and final match of the ODI series on Wednesday 29 May, following on from Derby and Taunton.

Head coach Jon Lewis said: “We are really excited to start our home summer. It’s great to be kicking off the summer of sport on home soil.

“I know the group are looking forward to playing in front of our fans in grounds across the country throughout the series.

“It’s great to see England’s men’s and women’s teams playing side by side again after the success of the Ashes last year.

“These two series against Pakistan give us an opportunity to build, develop and ensure we are in the best place come the World Cup in Bangladesh in September.

“We are very keen whenever possible to make sure all the players vying for places in the World Cup squad get opportunities to play cricket this summer so that they are able to put in performances that help secure a place in the squad for Bangladesh.”

Tickets for both series are still available and can be purchased here.

Women’s Metro Bank ODI Series v Pakistan – England squad

Heather Knight (C; Western Storm), Tammy Beaumont (The Blaze), Lauren Bell (Southern Vipers), Maia Bouchier (Southern Vipers), Alice Capsey (South East Stars), Kate Cross (Thunder), Charlie Dean (Southern Vipers), Sophie Ecclestone (Thunder), Lauren Filer (Western Storm), Sarah Glenn (The Blaze), Amy Jones (Central Sparks), Nat Sciver-Brunt (The Blaze), Danielle Wyatt (Southern Vipers)

Women’s Metro Bank ODI Series v Pakistan – fixtures

23 May: 1st Women’s One-Day International – The Incora County Ground, Derby, 1pm

26 May: 2nd Women’s One-Day International – The Cooper Associates County Ground, Taunton, 11am

29 May: 3rd Women’s One-Day International – The Cloud County Ground, Chelmsford, 1pm

Women’s Cricket at Chelmsford in 2024

Essex Women’s full fixture list for the 2024 season is available to view here.

Three fixtures will be staged at The Cloud County Ground, including the Battle of the Bridge T20 clash against Kent on Wednesday 07 August (6pm start).

Sunrisers will compete in the Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy (50-over) and Charlotte Edwards Cup (20-over) competitions at The Cloud County Ground with their opening 50-over match taking place on Saturday 27 April (10:30am) against The Blaze.

Tickets for all these fixtures are available now from essexcricket.org.uk and you can visit here for further information.